Image Courtesy of: Volkswagon

Volkswagon Wins Car of the Year 2010

published  First Published: 20/01/2010
Article written by: Garry Dickesson
The model range boasts exceptional performance, safety features and advancements - and delivers a package the judges considered worthy of ‘two classes above’ its very accessible price tags ( $25,990 to $42,990).
The VW Golf triumphed after the rigorous evaluation and road testing process that saw the largest ever field of 57 cars, derived from 22 models representing 16 manufacturers.
“The turbo-charged, five-door hatch VW Golf range is outstanding,” said Wheels editor, Ged Bulmer. “The Golf oozes sophistication, refinement and development - in an energetic package that comes with fundamentally good steering and balance.”
Australia’s original new car award was established in 1963 and recognises only the very best vehicle, meticulously identified from a diverse field of hopefuls. In some years the award has even been withheld so as to maintain its own high standards.
The judging panel tests a range of variants of the nominated model, and the cars are ultimately measured against an established and telling criteria. This criteria examines function, technology, efficiency/environment, safety, and value.
Of the eligible models launched during the past year, 22 shortlisted finalists took part in the rigorous week-long testing stage.
Some big names missed that shortlist, including the BMW Z4, Honda Civic SI, Peugeot 308CC, and the Suzuki Alto.
No Australian-built cars were eligible this year, and 10 out of the 22 finalists  were made in Japan.
A record 57 variants of the 22 shortlisted models (manual, auto versions, petrol/diesel, etc) were put through their paces at Holden’s Lang Lang Proving Ground, and finalists were also given a real world workout on the roads of Victoria.
The field was initially trimmed to 8 models, and then honed down to a final four: The VW Golf, Toyota Prius, Skoda Superb, and the Mercedes Benz E Class sedan.
The VW Golf impressed in all areas, including safety, with no less than 7 airbags as standard, including driver knee protection.
When measured against the long-established criteria for WHEELS Car Of The Year, the VW Golf proved itself a clear overall winner against some very noteworthy rivals.


cars tags


compare car loans


If you enjoyed reading this article on Volkswagon Wins Car of the Year 2010; share it with your friends & the world.



Comments made on Volkswagon Wins Car of the Year 2010